Tired of seeing ads? Register now! Registered members NO longer have to see any advertising on the forum side of the website. Enjoy! --- Rob

Hello there - Oil Grading - 1993 XV535 (CLOSED)

Tell us a little about you, and of course... about your bike!!

Moderators: ViragoJoe, choppin

TommyTurbo
What Virago you Own:

Hello there - Oil Grading - 1993 XV535 (CLOSED)

Post by TommyTurbo » Mon Apr 01, 2019 5:04 pm

Hi Guys,
I’m Tom and I passed my test in November last year. Today I put the deposit down on my first bike - An XV535.
She’s a 1993 model and only covered 15k miles. Body work has minimal rust and she started first time today when I went to view it.
I’m an engineer by trade so am handy with tools but I know next to nothing about bikes. I’m hoping this bike will allow me to do some tinkering and fettling and learn all about it.

The bike has little service history but I know it’s only covered 500 miles in the last 6 years so my first job is to give it a service and then go for a good ride out. I already have some questions regarding oil gradings so I’ll try and post them in the correct sub forums but go easy on me I’m new to bike mechanics! :shock:

Tom.

ViragoJoe
What Virago you Own: 1996 Virago Special XV1100SH
"Never ride faster than your Guardian Angel can fly!!"

Re: Hello there - Oil Grading - 1993 XV535

Post by ViragoJoe » Mon Apr 01, 2019 5:29 pm

Hello Tom,
Welcome to Virago Help.
Congratulations on your new to you 1993 Virago 535. There are a few folks here with 535's, also. You may know that already, if you have been reading some of the posts. We are starting to get more folks with 535's like yourself on the site. That's a good thing. The more the better for us all to learn more about our Virago's. If you have any questions feel free to ask.

Bikes that have been sitting for long periods of time and not maintained properly can cause issues. Lets hope, you have a good one that was well maintained.